BJP & Congress Fight for Uttarakahnd

Less than hours before dismissed Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat is to face a crucial trust vote in the state assembly, the Supreme Court on Monday (May 9) refused to permit nine disqualified rebel Congress MLAs to vote, raising hopes in the Congress camp of winning the much-anticipated floor test. A bench of justices Dipak Misra and Shiva Kirti Singh issued notice to Rawat and the secretary of the assembly in addition to seeking their response on the rebel MLAs’ plea for a stay on the HC order upholding their disqualification earlier in the day. However, the apex court declined to stay the HC order, thus barring the rebels from the trust vote. Congress now just needs to keep its flock together and ensure the continued support of six PDF MLAs, comprising BSP, Independents and Uttarakhand Kranti Dal. BJP, by contrast, sounded tentative, with sources conceding that disqualification of Congress rebels may help the latter take the game away from them.

Subscribe to Times Now | Click Here ►

‘Download the official TIMES NOW mobile app – Give a missed call on 1800 4190 300. Stay updated, stay ahead.’

Subscribe Now To Our Network Channels :-
The NewsHour Debate :
ET Now :

To Stay Updated Download the Times Now App :-
Android Google Play :
Apple App Store :

Social Media Links :-
Facebook –
G+ –
Twitter –
Also visit our website –

Leave a Comment