Dakar Rally highlights LatAm scenery with bravery of Chinese participants

The Dakar Rally owes its name to the original route, thought up by founder Thierry Sabine in 1979, which went from the French capital of Paris to the city of Dakar in Senegal.

In 2008 the French government suspended the competition due to security issues and the following year the rally moved to Argentina and Chile.

In 2013, Lima was added to the route. However, Peru’s Ministry of Foreign Trade and Tourism announced that the Latin American country would not participate in the 2016 edition due to forecasting of extreme weather conditions to be caused by the El Nino weather phenomenon.

The route was supposed to commence on January 3 in Lima and pass by Pisco, Nazca and Arequipa and then move on to Bolivia, where the plan was to show off the tourist attractions of Titicaca and end in Argentina.

Every year, the rally receives hundreds of competitors from all over the world, for example, Chinese drivers Yong Zhou and Han Yue, who held the Guinness Record for the tightest parallel park.

Leave a Comment