Japan’s Kajita, Canada’s McDonald share 2015 Nobel Physics Prize

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics is being shared by Japan’s Takaaki Kajita and Canada’s Arthur B. McDonald.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 recognized Kajita and McDonald for their key contributions to experiments demonstrating neutrinos change identities. This metamorphosis requires that neutrinos have mass.

Kajita, born in 1959, is a Japanese citizen. He is now the director of the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research and professor at the University of Tokyo.

McDonald, born in 1943, is a Canadian citizen and professor emeritus at Queen’s University of Canada.

This year’s prize is about 1 million U.S. dollars, which will be shared equally between the two laureates.

Leave a Comment