Jayalalithaa To Contest Again In Tamil Nadu – Just 7 Seats For Opposition

Stealing a march over arch rival DMK, the ruling AIADMK on Monday (April 4) released its list of 227 candidates for the May 16 Tamil Nadu Assembly polls and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa is all set to seek re-election from R K Nagar constituency. Allotting seven seats to smaller allies, AIADMK General Secretary Jayalalithaa today released the list naming candidates for the rest of 227 seats for which she held interviews for ticket aspirants from across Tamil Nadu in the past two weeks. Her confidant and Finance Minister O Panneerselvam, Electricity Minister Natham R Viswanathan, Housing Minister R Vaithlingam, Handloom Minister Gokula Indira and Minister for Social Welfare B Valarmathi are among the Ministers who have been re-nominated. S P Velumani, Sellur K Raju, RB Udayakumar, and K T Rajendrabalaji – also sitting Ministers- and Assembly Deputy Speaker Pollachi V Jayaraman and former DGP of Tamil Nadu R Natraj also figure in the list. K Pandiarajan, a rebel DMDK MLA who joined the AIADMK after the conclusion of the last Assembly session has also been named. Allies Indian Republican Party, AISMK, Tamil Nadu Kongu Ilangyar Peravai, Tamil Manila Muslim League and Mukkulathor Pulipadai have all been allotted one seat each and Manithaneya Jananayaga Katchi, a splinter outfit of MMK has been given two seats. She held talks with with them prior to the announcement. AIADMK’s arch rival DMK, which just concluded seat sharing with Congress and smaller allies, is expected to announce its candidates later.

Subscribe to Times Now | Click Here ►

‘Download the official TIMES NOW mobile app – Give a missed call on 1800 4190 300. Stay updated, stay ahead.’

Subscribe Now To Our Network Channels :-
The NewsHour Debate :
ET Now :

To Stay Updated Download the Times Now App :-
Android Google Play :
Apple App Store :

Social Media Links :-
Facebook –
G+ –
Twitter –
Also visit our website –

Leave a Comment