New non-permanent members of UN Security Council elected

The UN General Assembly on Tuesday elected Kazakhstan, Ethiopia, Bolivia and Sweden as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council, whose two-year term will start at the beginning of 2017.

The Netherlands and Italy, competing for a seat representing the regional group of Western European and other states, tied with 95 votes each after the fifth round of voting.

The two countries thus proposed to share the fifth Council seat and split the two-year term into one year each. The contest has yet to be officially resolved.

Leave a Comment